FALL 2018 PROGRAM INFORMATION


SESSION 1: Nov. 6, 11am PST / 12pm MST / 2pm EST

How to Clarify Your Marketing Message and Increase Sales

If you confuse them, you’ll lose them! Learn how to become the teacher, and make your customer the hero of your brand’s story. Position yourself as a “Yoda,” and watch your bookings grow!

Joseph Baker is the founder of Baker Media, a marketing agency based in Northern California, and a StoryBrand certified marketing consultant, speaker, website designer, event producer, and videographer. Joseph loves working with businesses of all sizes, and his #1 priority is finding ways to add real value.

SESSION 2: Nov. 6, 2pm PST / 3pm MST / 5pm EST

Building Brandwidth: From Values to Victory

Building a brand is like planning for a once-in-a-lifetime trip—it can’t be rushed! Using her experience with the Vancouver Olympic Games, Katrina will lay out an iterative, insight-driven approach to evolving your brand, show how to integrate your brand into every part of your business, and reveal how your brand story can—and does!—impact the world.

Katrina Galas is a Global Sports Strategy Consultant and the Founder of In Common Consulting. Katrina has worked with top-tier companies in the sport product, sport broadcasting, global sport consulting & events, and sport for development space in Canada, Australia, and the U.S. Her consulting firm focuses on leveraging a multifaceted, legacy-first mindset to elevate the impact sport can have in building a purposeful, brand-driven business or non-profit organization.

BONUS DAY 1 SESSION: LIVE Facebook Q&A Session with Katrina Galas on Nov. 6, 3:30 pm PST / 4:30 pm MST / 6:30 pm EST on creating a strong brand identity.

SESSION 3: Nov. 7, 11am PST / 12pm MST / 2pm EST

Creating Bite-Size Content

Ever heard of microcontent? Learn the value of this incredible storytelling tool, explore the creation process, and find out the latest best practices for using it to increase your business. You’ll also see top examples of microcontent from some of the best recent campaigns.

Brian Siddle is the director, community and content, for Strong Coffee Marketing. He has developed keynotes, workshops, and webinars on digital marketing for organizations such as DestinationBC, Tourism Yukon, Travel Alberta, PGA of Canada, Century 21, the GiantScreen Cinema Association, and Alberta Culture and Tourism. He has also taught digital marketing courses at Northern Lakes College and the University of Alberta.

BONUS DAY 2 SESSION: LIVE workshop in the Elevate Marketing Summit Facebook Group with Brian Siddle on Nov. 7, 12:30 pm PST / 1:30 pm MST / 3:30 pm EST on Facebook Insights. This session will dive deeper into 3 common insights of social media analytics, and look at what the numbers really mean.

SESSION 4: Nov. 7, 2pm PST / 3pm MST / 5pm EST

Video Storytelling: Why, What, How

Find out why video is a cornerstone of digital marketing in the tourism space, and what video storytelling can do for your business. You’ll learn the best and most efficient ways to execute video storytelling, and how you can create video that’s specific to your business or destination.

Leah Adams-Chute is the director of Dune Creative. She has over 10 years experience working in the tourism industry and has managed the operations of a small outdoor guiding business, created destination development plans, worked with media to tell incredible stories, and managed the global content strategy for a provincial destination marketing organization. Leah is passionate about sustainable tourism as a means of positive economic, social, and cultural development.

SESSION 5: Nov. 8, 11am PST / 12pm MST / 2pm EST

How to Generate Quality Leads and New Bookings for Your Travel Business

People can’t resist a good story—and yours is in your expertise. Learn the three simple steps for building a great lead-generation strategy that captivates your audience and gets more bookings. You’ll find out how to create exciting content that leverages what you already know, and how to build on it to turn leads into relationships, and relationships into bookings.

Marie Hunter is a digital marketing and lead generation specialist and the founder of Hunter Digital, and she is thrilled to bring you this first-ever virtual summit for the tourism industry. Marie is passionate about snowboarding, mountain biking and exploring the world, and she works hard to help tourism companies keep pace with the top marketing strategies to elevate their business.

SESSION 6: Nov. 8, 2pm PST / 3pm MST / 5pm EST

Adventures in SEO: How to Attract Customers to Your Travel Company

It’s great to have a story—but it’s even better when people discover it. The three keys to creating high-quality content that people will find online? Optimize, optimize, optimize! Learn how to ensure your content is SEO optimized, how to build trust with backlinks, and why website speed and security really matters for tourism businesses like yours.

Jason Park is the founder of Solid Mass Media, a creative design and digital marketing firm in Coquitlam, B.C. With a decade of experience at a design firm in Toronto, Jason knows how to motivate customers and drive conversions, and has a talent for growing food & event brands through strategy and business intelligence. Jason’s personal mantra is to “enjoy the ride,” and he reserves time every week for networking (as long as there is food involved!). Jason holds a B.A. in Technology from Ryerson University.

BONUS DAY 3 SESSION: LIVE workshop in the Elevate Marketing Summit Facebook Group with Joseph Baker on Nov. 8, 3:30 pm PST / 4:30 pm MST / 6:30 pm EST on how to clarify your marketing message and create your own StoryBrand elevator pitch.